The federal parliament

In the Chamber of Representatives, the 150 representatives are directly elected by universal suffrage. The number of representatives was cut from 212 members under the previous system to 150 members now. The Senate now has 71 members instead of the previous 184: 40 senators (25 Dutch-speaking and 15 French-speaking) elected by the population, 21 senators appointed by the Communities (10 from the Flemish Community, 10 from the French Community and 1 from the German-speaking Community) and 10 co-opted senators (6 Dutch-speaking and 4 French-speaking). Then we have to add the senators by right - these are some members of the royal family.

The Federal Parliament (Chamber and Senate) votes on laws.

Composition of the House of Representatives (nl – fr)
Composition of the Senate (nl – fr)
Watch the plenary meetings of the federal parliament live (nl – fr)
Visit the federal parliament (nl – fr)