Belgium elected as a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council

On 8 June 2018, Belgium was elected in New York as a non-permanent member of the United Nations Security Council for the period 2019-2020. With 181 votes, our country was able to count on broad support among the 193 member states of the UN General Assembly. It is the sixth time in its history that Belgium will be a non-permanent member. In addition to Belgium, Germany, South Africa, the Dominican Republic and Indonesia were also elected.

Belgium is determined, together with the other members, to work tirelessly to maintain international peace and security, with respect for values such as peace, human rights and the principles of the United Nations Charter. Our country will diligently carry out the tasks that it will be assigned in the Security Council.


Read the press releases of Prime Minister Charles Michel, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Development Cooperation Alexander De Croo and Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs Didier Reynders.