The federal government

The Federal Government exercises the federal executive power.

This Government is now limited to 15 ministers. With the possible exception of the Prime Minister, the Federal Government consists of the same number of Dutch-speakers and French-speakers. Secretaries of State may also be added.

The Government implements the legislation.

The Government also participates in the legislative power, through its right of initiative. The Government can submit bills to the Parliament and has the right to propose amendments. This means that it can submit amendments to its own bills, and to the bills of members of parliament. A bill that has been approved by Parliament only becomes law after signature by the Government, i.e. the King and the Ministers.