The Regions

Apart from the Federal State and the Communities, there are the Regions.

There are three Regions. The names of the three regional institutions are borrowed from the name of the territory they represent. So we refer to (from north to south) the Flemish Region, the Brussels-Capital Region and the Walloon Region.

The Regions have legislative and executive organs: these are known as the Regional Parliament and the Regional Government.

One should not forget that in Flanders, the Community and Regional institutions were merged. So in Flanders, there is one Parliament and one Government.